Chicken & White Bean Chili

DSC02145

This is comfort food with my name written all over it. It’s gluten and dairy free friendly but gives everyone the option to add toppings that suit to taste!

Our family used to frequent a mexican restaurant that was to die for. Without fail I ordered the Pollo Ajillo, chicken with garlic and tomato sauce. And I remember thinking, “We have to figure out how to recreate this at home.” And we never did. The flavor was too unique, to original.

Whenever I go to my sister’s house I usually end up raiding their fridge for something to snack on. And Laura is always gracious to let me be nosey. But really I’m paying her a compliment because be it fresh fish sticks or left over meatballs, Laura has the gourmet touch. That woman could turn rocks into a delicacy. And on one occasion I opened those stainless steal doors. Two hands. Standing dead center for full viewing. Wide open. And there was a near replica of the Pollo Ajillo of my childhood…The fork lifted to my mouth and…

“How did you make this!” I exclaimed.

She then showed me the recipe. Delicious on a winter’s night and even better left over for lunch the next day. Be prepared to be amazed if Mexican suits your fancy, because for how incredibly simple this recipe is, it is mouthwateringly mouthwatering.

DSC02138

CHICKEN & WHITE BEAN CHILI

3 chicken breasts*

olive oil

salt and peper

2 yellow onions, diced

1 red bell pepper, chopped

3 garlic cloves, crushed

3/4 teaspoon cumin + 1/2 teaspoon chili powder+ 1/2 teaspoon paprika

28 oz. can diced tomatoes

14 oz. can cannellini beans

Preheat the oven to 425 degress. Brush chicken breasts with olive oil and season with salt and peper. On a baking sheet with parchment paper, bake  in oven for 25 minutes. Let cool then shred meat with your fingers. Set aside.

In a large soup pot, heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil over medium-high heat. Add onions, bell pepper, garlic, spices, and a large pinch of salt. Cook until vegetables are softened, stirring here and there, about 10 minutes. Add tomatoes and a pinch of salt. Bring mixture to a boil then turn the heat on low, cook for 1/2 hour. Add beans, chicken, and 1/3 cup water and simmer for another 20 minutes. Season with salt and pepper and serve with toppings of choice.

*Time Saver: Use cooked rotisserie chicken or chop rather than shred the cooked chicken breasts.

adapted from GP’s It’s All Good

DSC02139

3 Comments

Filed under at home, recipes

3 responses to “Chicken & White Bean Chili

  1. Daddy

    Oh culinary joy! And I just ate too!
    I called it “Stir fry Veggies with Beef.”
    Garlic, Onions, Scallions , Ginger, Green Peppers salt, red pepper flakes and little soy sauce. This over white rice. NO MSG.

    Love you Lil.

    Daddy

  2. This looks fantastic. I’m making the grocery list now.. We’re a little obsessed and deprived on Mexican food over here.

Leave a comment