No Better Time To Know My Maker

DSC03723Our home, our dear, sweet nine-hundred-ish square foot apartment. We thought you were beautiful in the summer and fall when the leaves glowed bright forest greens then blazed with autumn burgundy. But how good it’s been to share, and retreat, and grow, and host inside these new walls as we are greeted by this blustery winter wind.

I normally love to sit at our kitchen table. It’s where I go once I’ve made tea and breakfast, and I read my bible or journal before starting my work day. Usually I don’t sit on the couches. To me, they are a black hole. They are once-you-sit-down-you-won’t-get-up taunters. So I usually sit at the table be it morning, lunch or afternoon. But this afternoon I’m getting sucked in. With a restaurant memoir and the prospect of a comfort food dinner…because it’s my birthday. From these cuddly couches I now watch our white wonderland unfold, and I am grateful for another year to love and serve and know my Maker. DSC03719DSC03722Every year my birthday draws me to spend some special alone time with Him for the purpose of reflecting, praying and thanking. He, after all, created me and I love Him so. It grounds me each year to look back in awe and forward with hope, and more importantly to think of others on a day we are “allowed” to self-center. Many things change as we age and grow, loose and love, plan and do, but one of my prayers has not changed since I was fourteen. Each year it is: “Till I only dwell in Thee”. DSC03729

3 Comments

Filed under life

3 responses to “No Better Time To Know My Maker

  1. Happy birthday beautiful friend! xoxo

  2. Pingback: Meet Olivia | anchored in hope

Leave a Reply

