Turkey Meatballs

DSC03513This recipe: This recipe for these delicious turkey meatballs is on a now crinkly page in my well-loved GP’s Its All Good. I seriously love these meatballs, and I seriously love this cookbook. Everything in it is comforting and yummy and clean.

Making them again this Fall brought back so many memories from our first apartment and months of marriage. I made these a bunch along with many other recipes I’d experiment with when I didn’t work. I would start dinner at 2pm because wanted to get to know my kitchen, and learn more about food while I had the time.

DSC03500Ground Turkey: I go crazy over ground turkey from Costco. It comes in a four pack that is so easy to freeze right away. I get kind of antsy when I turn the corner and see the ground turkey case. I get excited about freezing meat and I love the potential with this protein! Knowing there in the freezer is almost empowering. Meatballs, chili, burgers, bolognese, lasagna, ahh! I almost try to play it cool when I see the bright orange sticker saying, “$5 off ground turkey”.

DSC03507

Turkey Meatballs (adapted from It’s All Good)

Serves 4

1 small onion (or several shallots), roughly chopped

2 garlic cloves, roughly chopped

small palmfuls of fresh sage, basil, thyme, rosemary, parsley (Or use dried herbs. I’ve tried both, and it’s yummy either way)

1 pound ground turkey

sea salt  & pepper

Combine onion, garlic, and herbs in food professor and pulse to very finely chopped. Transfer mixture to a large bowl and mix together with a large pinch of salt, several grinds of pepper, and the ground turkey. Mix with hands, then roll into small meatballs.

Heat 2 tablespoons olive oil in a non-stick skillet (the non stick does make things a lot easier). Cook meatballs in batches until browned on all sides (2-3 minutes per side). [If enjoying without sauce, keep turning until entirely cooked through].

If you’re having this with pasta and sauce, bury the meatballs in your sauce while it is heating up or cooking. Make sure the meatballs are cooked all the way through (about 1/2 hour).

Enjoy with any pasta and red sauce, or on their own with rice and a hearty green!

Happy Cooking!

4 Comments

Filed under life, recipes

4 responses to “Turkey Meatballs

  1. There is just something about turkey meatballs that feels so nourishing to me! I LOVE these!!!!! I totally make them similarly but its been a while!!! I’ve added egg a couple of times and made them like little mini meatloaf burgers as a side. LOVE the photos and love your simplicity!!

    • How delightful to here from you, Christina! I would love love love to know what you’ve been up to in the kitchen with the little one around now…experimenting or staying safe? I’d love to hear! Hope you’re well! xo

  2. YUM!!! I am so trying this!! Post more:) xoxo

Leave a Reply

