Landed in LaGuardia

photo-4Lets not talk about the eyebrow. The point is, I’m on an airplane headed to LGA, and I don’t know who’s more excited me…or me. I’m visiting my family on a short four day trip and am thrilled to be here. Maybe it’s this winter, maybe it’s just that I miss them tons, but it feels really good to be back.

In the time that we last visited eight weeks ago, my parents moved out of the house I grew up in, and right now they are living in a friend’s home while their quaint lakeside cottage is being completed. This family who offered a place to my parents for the meantime are simply, wonderfully so generous and giving and loving. I was their nanny for two years and spent one of them working almost every weekday here in this particular home. I know where every spoon, ladle, and tissue box is. I can tell you which rooms are the coldest and which are the coziest. It’s where my sister stayed with my brother in law and one week old niece when a disastrous storm came through, forcing them to evacuate their home and seek warmth and quiet at this very home. So, it’s pretty much the next best thing to not being in my childhood home.

And, oh, then this.

DSC02282

Bed by ten, anyone? I’ll take it.

Leave a comment

Filed under literature reviews

Leave a Reply

