The Grammarian

Handle with cake

A little grammar huddle, everyone. Can we make this fun? I don’t know, but lets try.

When I was sixteen I knew I wanted to be an English teacher and I haven’t looked back since. But I still ask myself questions like  vs. me, or once and for all: Affect vs Effect. The best way to learn? Reading, ultimately. I tell my students repeatedly:

If you want to speak well, read.

If you want to listen well, read.

If you want to write well, read.

If you want to read well, read. 

And the same is true for you and me! If you want to make a habit of speaking well (But no one likes a grammar snob, so if you want to speak good, that’s fine too) cozy up with a biography or two and let it soak in. And…a mini list of fun facts!

mean-ol-schoolmarm-i-vs-me

How many words are in the English language? 171, 476, says Oxford.

About how many words do I know? 20,000 active (I could use them everyday), 40,000 passive (I could recognize it when I hear it but don’t regularly it).

How many words do you need to know to be fluent in English? Approximately 3,000 for English, varying for every language.

I or me? The long and short? When deciding to use “I” or “me” think about what the sentence would sound like using either. You will quickly find out which is right and wrong. Incorrect: She and me go walking in the park on Saturday’s. (Me go walking in the park on Saturday’s.) Correct: She and I go walking in the park on Saturday’s. (I go walking in the park on Saturday’s.)

Grammar Quiz anyone? Answers here.

10 language mistakes that kids make that are pretty smart!

What is a preposition? You’ll never forget after watching this.

A list of translated untranslatable words.

What are your everyday English tips or tricks?

photo credit: Words That Matter; Pioneer Woman

3 Comments

Filed under literature reviews

3 responses to “The Grammarian

  1. oh my goodness, I cannot agree more. Reading is essential in learning how to use a language well. English was my second language and I used to flunk it until I actually started reading books in English. And it wasn’t just mindlessly reading them, but taking my time, slowing the pace, actually paying attention to the use of grammar, punctuation, etc.
    My grades in English skyrocketed since then 🙂

  2. That’s is awesome. Proof, ladies and gentleman! Way to go! : )

  3. Pingback: Put Me On Your Shoulders, And Call Me Robin Williams | Olivia Jamie

Leave a Reply

