The Romantic

photoWhen my husband and I were dating, I had a memorable conversation with someone about the importance of physical attraction in a relationship. Of course I exclaimed that attraction was really important and that it may be one of the first things that draws us to our spouse (and that doesn’t mean you’re superficial)! BUT, I continued to say that our commitment to to each other and, even more, our love shown through selflessness is what we saw as most important. She said it sounded a bit “unromantic”, but I said, “To me, there couldn’t be anything more romantic than that!” (And this is coming from an Austen-love-story-butterflies-are-for-real aficionado).

Because, in a lifetime, we could encounter sickness and health, wealth and poverty, the best and the worst requiring more than happiness or attraction to keep us together.

And marriage requires constant yet sweet reminding.weddingThat, while wonderful, fun, and joyful, marriage is for our holiness and not our happiness first and foremost.

That it is good for us to be together because we trust in God’s perfect and good plans for our lives.

That it is about covenant not convenience.

If you were to ask my husband and me what our favorite books on marriage are, we would readily give three:

1. This Momentary Marriage by John Piper.

2. The Meaning of Marriage by Timothy Keller

3. The Bible

I’m sure in the course of our marriage we will refer to many other books and resources to strengthen our communication and relationship, but these three could be deemed “Required Reading” for the single, engaged, and married.

Happy Valentine’s! xo

photo credit: Montgomery Fest; When He found Her

6 Comments

Filed under life, literature reviews

6 responses to “The Romantic

  1. oh I love this post! It’s so true that “marriage requires constant yet sweet reminding”!
    I haven’t read those books you listed but I’ve heard they are good. One resource I’ve found helpful is Mark Driscoll’s Real Marriage sermon series. I know he has a book with the same name but I haven’t read that either. I’ve only heard the sermons yet I was really blessed by it 🙂

  2. Thank you for this post. Marriage truly does matter– even when I fee like tossing my hands up and giving up.

  3. I love, love, love this! I’m so proud of our little photo and what you did with it! And this message is wonderful..It is through Him that we do this and take on our vows every day.

Leave a Reply

