Black Tea

Croissant

My sister, mom, and two dear friends hosted a lovely tea sampling bridal shower for me last year. Everything from the cheese platter to the laughs and conversation were just the ticket to celebrate. Among the three teas we sampled was the most delicious and creamy black tea I had had since a vacation to the UK almost 13 years ago.

I can remember pot after pot of tea shared amongst us three Plouffe ladies on that cozy and adventuresome holiday together and have been looking for that taste ever since. But I can close me eyes and be transported to those small Irish streets or cozy Scottish cafe’s with a cup of David’s Nepal Black or a cup of good ‘ol Red Rose. Milk, sugar, scone. Mmmm.

Screen Shot 2014-01-23 at 4.43.57 PM

I’m withholding from an abundance of things that should be said about black tea. But I will leave you with a couple of valuables I’ve learned. My questions and researched/experience answers are below (I didn’t get fancy here. This is for the layman).

What popular teas are black?

Orange Pekoe, Breakfast Teas, Early Grey, Chai, Ceylon. All are naturally caffeinated unless specified otherwise.

How do I properly steep tea?

Generally two to three minutes. But of course, steep to your taste.

Is it milk or tea first?

Twinnings says that putting the milk in first was historically the way of preserving the fine bone china from shock of the hot tea entering the cup. Now a days, it’s up to you!

What is the difference between English, Irish, and Scottish Breakfast Tea?

After doing some reading, I learned that all three are blends of black tea, with Irish/Scottish being stronger than English Breakfast. It would seem that the Brit’s don’t drink English Breakfast unless at a hotel or abroad.

What is the “tea” that the British are always talking about?

Black tea and whichever suits your fancy. PG Tips? Yorkshire Gold? Tetley? 

yummy-masala-chai-recipe

A Few Black Tea Recipes

Jo’s Masala Chai

Rachel’s Butter Chai

Christina’s Early Grey Latte

I’m sure you know more about tea than is said here! Please share, I would love to know your tea tips.

photo credit: The Yellow Table and A Cup of Jo

4 Comments

Filed under how to

4 responses to “Black Tea

  1. I’m a tea fanatic. I can’t start my day without it 🙂

    Thanks for linking to me 🙂

  2. Tea is a must especially during the colder seasons and my very British mom always puts milk first:) I love this post so very much. Have a beautiful Monday, sweetie.

Leave a Reply

