How I Beat Those Winter Blues: Move

NYC Balletall images from the New York City Ballet in the 1960’s.

No fail, if I get movin’ I’m a happy girl. I sleep better, think clearer, sing louder. My go-to, get-me-up, clear-my-mind secret is simply–move. My parent’s example is the greatest encourager to me on this topic.

Sometimes I get bummed out by the statistics that unless I run on the treadmill for 45 minutes I’m not going to burn any calories (note a hint of exaggeration). And it often prevents me from remembering the “something is better than nothing” motto. Because really…something is better than nothing. “Just get that heart pumping, you’ll feel so much better,” my mom always says whenever I mention feeling sluggish or unmotivated.

So this post is for me. A little shameless motivation to MOVE.

DANCE

My favorite form of cardio is to dance. Put on a pump up playlist and I’m a goner! I’ll do anywhere from 20-30 minutes jump, skipping, leaping, all around the kitchen.

ballet02

SKIP

I get shin splints so I need to diversify. If I want to get out of the house I’ll go the gym, get on the treadmill and skip. I look like a maniac for the first few minutes but then once I’m in the groove there’s no stopping! I usually hide at the farthest treadmill so as to not draw attention and then skip front-to-side, high knees, etc for 30 minutes. It’s a great workout. Check with your gym and dr. if it’s ok first and check out these videos for some guidance. Dance Aerobics on the Treadmill and Treadmill Routine

STRETCH

If I don’t have time to exercise regularly, I am sure to at least stretch in the morning or before going to bed. Jordan will often find me in small spaces of our apartment swinging my arms around or touching my toes at random times.  I’ll start with standing stretches then go to the floor. Usually it’s no more than 15 minutes.ballet15

REBOUND

Another achy knee and shin splint alternative is to join the rebounders. My sister got me a mini trampoline for Christmas last year and I just love it. The video I follow is here.

A friend of mine posted this the other day: “Summer Goals for 2014: run a half marathon , the electric run, and the warrior dash !! …It’s about living a healthy lifestyle, and never letting yourself get in the way of doing things you want to do.”

How true! My 2014 goals are to get in the pool for laps and to continue walking outside in all weather.

photo credit: Ernst Haas

Leave a comment

Filed under how to, life

Leave a Reply

