How You Know

DSC02090

My brother-in-law is missing in these pictures. Because amidst the holidays and a 14 month old and a very quick delivery of a new son, he contracted the flu and just had to sleep. He’s a hero…and so is my sister (who just posted her first birth story here. Just wait until you hear the second). And we just had a great visit all together celebrating Christmas and New Year’s at a perfect time.

I was always the homebody. No matter what camps my sister went to or where she planned to go to university I always thought, “I’ll happily stay close to home.” As busy as our days were outside the home between sports and babysitting, I always loved the feeling of coming home at the end of the day.

And then my faith grabbed me. And my thoughts started changing. And then I started fearing. “What if God send me to Africa to be a missionary?!” So I started preparing. Because of course if He called me to Africa, Africa I would go. That never came. But Canada and China did.

So while Laura was getting married to a New Hampshire boy at 19 and living in Connecticut, I flew off to Saskatchewan, Canada at 17 to become an English Language teacher. And it was hard. every. time. But it always felt right. I just knew that going away to school was the right thing for me. And when it came time to move away from family to live in Ontario with my husband…again, I just knew. But how do you know?

Knowing isn’t always a feeling. Though it sometimes can very well be. Knowing is remembering. Remembering every time life is hard or homesickness tsunamis in on me, “This is God’s best for me and I am here for his glory.” And that’s enough for me. It comforts and grounds me every time!

So of course the lumpy throat is there when I kiss my family goodbye. When the cuteness grows in the family, it’s even harder (see more below). But to be with my dear husband in Ontario is so good.

Thanks for a beautiful visit, family. We love you all.

DSC02095

DSC02118

DSC02106 DSC02112

1 Comment

Filed under at home, life

One response to “How You Know

  1. “Remembering every time life is hard or homesickness tsunamis in on me, “This is God’s best for me and I am here for his glory.” And that’s enough for me. It comforts and grounds me every time!” ….oh, yes!! this resonates with me. keeping eternal perspective is our comfort and hope!!

    glad you were able to have this time with your family. i know how cherished it is~

Leave a Reply

