How To Read When You Don’t Have Time

Audio Booksphoto credit: thechangeblog

In real life it can almost seem impossible to pick up a book for enjoyment. time. just. flies. Anyone?

When I moved back to Connecticut after school I was away from my boyfriend, adjusting to the “real world”, reuniting with family and working three jobs. And I spent a lot of time in the car going from one place to the next. Driving the kids I nannied here and there or commuting to teach.  But I wasn’t alone. During those two years between graduation and marriage I drove with Jo March and Presidents John Adams and George W. Visualized Julia’s food and France and received council on faith and finances, holiness and happiness…all by listening. IMG_0192

Audio books revolutionized my idea of when and how to enjoy books when time is short at home but long on the road. A few things on audio books:

#1 CHOOSE YOUR ADAPTATION CAREFULLY

If it is fiction the characters will most likely be acted by a single speaker. Depending on the story, you could be listening to the same narrator anywhere from 8 to 40 or more hours in total…so if you’re not fond of the voice or quality, simply try for another.

#2 NO SHAME

I was glad that I picked picked up Little Women and Decision Points on audio, because otherwise I may not have sat down to read them. I plan to do this with a few intimidating classics I’ve always wanted to read but never got around to. For example, if reading War & Peace scares you, but it’s on your bucket list, here’s an alternative. It’s a good thing I’m not a purist.

#3 DOWNLOAD OVERDRIVE or GO TO YOUR LIBRARY

A family friend introduced me to an app called Overdrive. You can download audio books from your library right onto your smartphone. You can also get books in CD at the library just remember to renew, because it could take several weeks to get through some of them.

#4 REMEMBER WHERE YOU LEFT OFF

Whether on CD or your iPhone, be sure to remember where you pause each time. Take a screen shot or a mental note of the track numbers your on. This will save time if it ever gets kicked back to the beginning.

               photo 1 photo 2

My listens for 2011-2013:

Decision Points by George W. Bush; John Adams by David McCullough;  Money and Marriage God’s Way by Howard Dayton; The King’s Speech by Mark Logue & Peter Conrad; Little Woman by Louisa May Alcott; My Life in France by Julia Child; Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen; Wherever I Wind Up by R.A. Dickey; Death Comes to Pemberly by P.D. James

1 Comment

Filed under how to, literature reviews

One response to “How To Read When You Don’t Have Time

  1. Michelle Elford

    You should also check out audible.com – i’ve heard good things about it and I think you get your first book free.. but I usually go for the library too!

Leave a Reply

