Ottolenghi’s “Plenty”

DSC01548My parents got me this lovely cookbook for my 24th birthday. Mom had received it as a gift while I was living at home and we all benefited from each d.e.l.i.c.i.o.u.s. and unique recipe.

Plenty’s author, Chef Ottolenghi, writes a masterpiece…as far as I’m concerned. You read the recipes thinking, “Hm. I would have never put those together” or “Plenty? Are you sure? But it’s all vegetables!” But each one is a pleasant surprise from the first bite to the last and it is, indeed, plenty. Most are also easily adapted depending on whats in your pantry (within reason) for either a full meal or as a side to a protein, because we do love us some meat.

DSC01540

This past week I had a head of savoy cabbage in my fridge that needed to be used. So I adapted the following recipe and with a hearty “Hooray”, my palette (and wallet) rejoiced.

Cabbage, Cranberry, and Dill Salad

Serves 4

1 medium cabbage, chopped

1/2 bunch of dill, roughly chopped

1 cup of dried cranberries (or dried cherries)

grated zest of a half lemon

6 tsp lemon juice

1/4 olive oil

1 garlic clove, crushed

salt and pepper to taste

Combine all ingredients and mix with hands. Let sit for 10 minutes. Mix again, then adjust salt to taste (Ottonlenghi says you’ll need a fair amount of salt to counteract the lemon, but always taste then adjust).

To serve, lift the salad out of the bowl using your hands, leaving most of the juice behind.

Adapted from Plenty

Ottolenghi has two more recent cookbooks

Screen Shot 2013-12-19 at 8.59.06 AM      Screen Shot 2013-12-19 at 8.58.49 AM

2 Comments

Filed under at home, literature reviews, recipes

2 responses to “Ottolenghi’s “Plenty”

  1. Michelle Elford

    Hey Olivia! I’ve been loving reading your blog recently! 🙂 I just bought the Jerusalem cookbook as a Christmas gift for a special family member and looking through it, I think I need to purchase it for myself. So amazing looking – and I’ve been loving Arabic food this year due to my travelling in that area! Good review of Plenty!

Leave a Reply

