Making Clean Up Easier

DSC01499

They say a good cook is one who knows when it’s time to clean up. I do like to clean, but I have a habit of making my kitchen look like an explosion (yes, the noun) after an afternoon of cooking. When clean up is daunting, cooking becomes unenjoyable so, I’ve adopted a few practices to make clean up easier. None of these may be new, but all have been really valuable to me!

Tip #1 HAVE A BOWL OF WATER AND WHITE VINEGAR NEAR BY

The presence of this bowl alone serves as a friendly reminder. But it’s not all show. Have a clean rag ready to go so when the counter clears of dishes you can come by with a disinfecting wipe down right after. Then carry on!DSC01454

Tip #2 USE A SCRAP BOWL

My sister taught me this one and life was never the same. Having a bowl near by to throw all the scrap food/wrappers/dirty paper towels in is magic (if you compost and recycle have a couple bowls out)! It saves room on your cutting board and counters to do the real work. And you’ll cut down on trips back and forth between the garbage can with handfuls of onion peel dropping on the way (been there?). DSC01461

Tip #3 WEAR COMFY SHOES

“But that’s not about clean up” Maybe. This is a personal preference thing: bare feet on crumby-water droplet-flour dusted-floors. Not so much. So I usually wear comfy, supportive shoes that keep my feet clean and safe from any falling kitchen tools. DSC01495

Tip #4 KEEP THE DIRTY DISHES OUT OF THE SINK

We have a tiny sink, no dish washer, and a lot of used dishes almost every day. A trick my husband graciously showed me? Keep the dishes out of the sink so when it comes to cleaning them there is room to wash. Not everything is intuitive.
DSC01503

TIP #5 DO A 2-MINUTE TIDY

While the sauce is simmering or the onions are browning take a quick sweep over the counters, the floor, the sink and tidy a bit.

DSC01535

(It was quite an awkward challenge to get a portrait of myself cooling down this spoon full of sauce. Snap. Snap. Snap. Taste. Snap. Taste. Refill. Snap.)

Anna, a favorite blogger, who has her own way of tidying and I love it!

What do you do?

1 Comment

Filed under at home, how to, life

One response to “Making Clean Up Easier

  1. Mary Jane Plouffe

    I so enjoy learning from my daughters! Thanks Liv!

Leave a Reply

