Unbroken & Evidence Not Seen

Image

Both of my grandfathers, who have since passed away, served America in their younger years. My mom’s dad was a Pearl Harbor Veteran. My dad’s dad a marine during WWII . Both never shared much about their time in the military.

The sacrifice is really something I take for granted. My freedom, earned on someone else’s shoulders. A brother, a sister, a father. Thank you. 

Here are two remarkable accounts of POWs during WWII. If you pick them up, you won’t put them down. When you put it down, you won’t be the same.

Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand

Screen Shot 2013-11-13 at 1.54.52 PM

This account of Louie Zamparini is what the cover claims…and more. Hillenbrand writes a true story that reads like fiction. At many points while reading I thought, “If he can survive this. I can do anything”. I also had thoughts like, “It is amazing how resilient God made human beings!” and “Could this story get any more amazing?” (and for me, it did). The determination of this man to survive amid unthinkable circumstances was so compelling. My eyes were opened to the world my grandpa lived in while serving our country. And the “redemption” part of the story is my favorite by far. My entire immediate family has read this book and we keep spreading the word.

Evidence Not Seen by Darlene Diebler Rose

Image

To me, Darlene is a friend. I have never met her, but from my teens she has mentored me through the bravery and faith portrayed in this true story. This book was lent to me at just the right time. I was young and learning about relationship with God. As a young woman herself, Darlene was placed in a intolerable situation after being captured by the Japanese as a missionary mistaken for spy. She recalls prayers, conversations, and thoughts with such vividness, you are there in the cell with her.

When I think of the person I long to be, I think of Darlene.

poppy picture by Marion Rose

Leave a comment

Filed under literature reviews

Leave a Reply

