Doing vs. Being, And Learning How To Love Home

Still Starts

I have a prayer as a wife and homemaker: that our home would be a place of peace, of refuge, of blessing, and laughter.

With my cheek resting in my hand, on the back pillows of our off-white couches I prayed, eyes closed. Deep down denying my angst TO DO, and keep doing.

Lord, invade this place. Let your praises be sung here, my husband be rested here, our guests refreshed and blessed here. Let it be a refuge from worldliness. 

Almost everyday since we moved into our first apartment I’ve come home anxious, and sometimes not even looking forward to stepping in the door. What needs to be done? Laundry? Dishes? Organizing? Exercising? Cleaning?  And many housewives can relate to this thought pattern. There’s almost always something to be done. There is almost always another crumb to be swept away, dish towel to be folded, head of lettuce to be washed.

Journals

But recently, I have been practicing coming home from work and letting it be…and doing it later (gasp!). Taking time to make tea and sit down to journal. Organizing a little, but not a ton. Leaving the computer closed until I have read a psalm aloud or close my eyes for several minutes. And loving our home for being a place where I can enjoy being and doing (when the time is right).

I enjoy my role as a homemaker. I want to spoil my husband with good food while enjoying a bright, clean home. But Jordan once wisely said (in so many words), “I would rather eat pb&j and have a happy wife, than eat a gourmet dinner made by a stressed out wife.” Well said, Babe.

Because if I weren’t careful, I would never stop…and it’s a weakness of mine I’m very aware of.

How do you stop to just be?

Inspired by Darling’s amazing article, The Professional and The Peaceful Home

photo credit: (1), (2)

 

 

10 Comments

Filed under life

10 responses to “Doing vs. Being, And Learning How To Love Home

  1. Such a good reminder.. And one I need often! “Just stop and sit!” are words I sometimes have to say out loud to myself- and we always wondered why our moms talked to themselves… now we know!!! ;)) But these moments are not only critical to our sanity but further help create a home of rest for not only ourselves but everyone who enters. ~

  2. This has been one of my focuses as of late as well. To just be, enjoy the present and let THINGS be. It is amazing how much easier it is to deal with those things that are out of place or needing attention when I, myself, am relaxed. Daunting tasks become fun challenges. It is easier to sort, declutter and prepare when the mind is at rest. No longer to I find myself procrastinating as much, I’m simply moving it to a day where I am preparedly focused.

    • “No longer to I find myself procrastinating as much, I’m simply moving it to a day where I am preparedly focused”. I couldn’t have said it better myself, Laura. My thoughts exactly!

  3. Absolutely lovely post. My husband says we could eat out every night if I wanted to and I don’t even work but I TOTALLY get overwhelmed with trying to be “perfect.” I too have learned to let it be more now that I’m pregnant-because I just don’t have the energy I used to. I hope it comes back though!

    • Isn’t it true about perfection? Sometimes it’s nice to have our husband’s/family/friends say, “Give yourself a break!” Thanks, Christina. Always love hearing from your neck of the woods!

  4. I love what you said here and what your husband said too! Haha! 🙂

  5. I have the same issue, especially on my days off when I feel like I need to get the most stuff done. It’s a working progress for me. Thanks for sharing that!

    P.S. – Olivia, I nominated you for the Liebster Award on my blog (NapsandCupcakes.blogspot.com). 🙂

Leave a comment